Thoughts on the Church’s wikipedia entry

In exploring the wikipedia entry for The Church of Jesus Christ Of Latter Day Saints,  I was struck with how strange the Mormon theology must be to those not of that faith.   It is interesting to me to see how people see our religion. In an effort to objectify it, it sounds very cult-ish.  No wonder people have the impression that Mormonism is a cult. The difference between objectivity and revealed truth stood out very clearly.  I did make one small change to the entry. The changed the date of when the church was founded. Before it read “in 1830” and I changed it to April 6, 1830.  A small change and maybe insignificant but to those who are of the Mormon faith, this date has very symbolic meaning.  As I made this change, I thought to myself “do I have the right to make the change?”  as if I needed permission to make a contribution.  The idea that anyone can make a contribution to a body of knowledge is very freeing. 

3 Responses to Thoughts on the Church’s wikipedia entry

  1. sarajoypond says:

    I had a similar [albeit fleeting] thought before making my first Wikipedia edit. “Am I allowed to DO this?!” Imagine the potential impact of helping a generation of young people become accomplished creators and wise stewards of information rather than simply consumers! Thanks for sharing.

  2. David Wiley says:

    “The idea that anyone can make a contribution to a body of knowledge is very freeing.” This is what graduate school is all about – making contributions to a body of knowledge. If this little contribution is exciting, imagine how you’ll feel after a dissertation! =)

    I’d encourage you to look at your peers’ writing; they tend to be writing a little more and, therefore, are able to put more thought into (or at least express more thought through) their writing.

  3. I kind of felt the same way whether I needed permission to make a change. And you are right, you do feel like you have a lot of freedom when with a click or two you can make any change that you want. Thanks for your post.

Leave a comment